Training and testing data come from many sources, including web crawling
For the generative AI services it makes available to customers, Amazon says it trains and tests on a range of data meant to enhance the services' capabilities. The sources it says it may use are licensed and proprietary datasets, synthetic datasets, open-source datasets, and publicly available content, which expressly includes web-crawled data. These are listed as sources Amazon may use, not as a confirmed inventory for each service.
Supporting quotations
For the generative AI services we make available to our customers, we train and test on a range of data intended to enhance our services’ capabilities.
We may train and test on licensed and proprietary datasets, synthetic datasets, open-source datasets, and publicly available content (including web crawled data).
Qualifications & exceptions
Applies to generative AI services Amazon makes available to its customers.
Every source is introduced with 'may', so the list shows what Amazon may use, not what each service actually used.
Not stated here
Which sources go into which service is not stated.
'Proprietary datasets' is not defined, so this page does not say whether it includes data from customers' use of Amazon products.
Which websites are crawled, and whether site owners can exclude their content, is not described.
Data Access & Collection · Company practice
Datasets may contain personal or aggregate consumer information
Amazon says the datasets may contain, 'in some cases', personal information or aggregate consumer information. The same page says Amazon applies training-data practices meant to help limit the impact of any processing of personal information in connection with training (see the safeguards card). It does not say which datasets, services or people's data are involved.
Supporting quotations
and in some cases, personal information or aggregate consumer information.
including techniques to help limit the impact of any processing of personal information in connection with training generative AI services
Qualifications & exceptions
Limited to 'some cases': personal information is not described as present in every dataset.
The safeguard language says 'help limit the impact', not that personal information is removed or excluded.
Not stated here
The page does not say how often personal information appears, or in which datasets.
It does not say whether customers' own account data or content is used.
'Aggregate consumer information' is not defined.
How Amazon collects and uses personal information is deferred to the Amazon Privacy Notice, which this analysis does not cover.
Data Access & Collection · Company practice
Data volumes vary, collection began before 2022 and continues
Amazon says the amount of training and testing data varies by model or service and could range from thousands to trillions of data points. It has been collecting data since before 2022, with different models starting at different times, and it describes data collection, training and testing as ongoing so it can keep improving services and add capabilities.
Supporting quotations
The size of our training and testing data varies by model or service, and could range from thousands to trillions of data points.
We have been collecting data since before 2022, with different models beginning development at different times.
Data collection, training, and testing are ongoing processes as we continuously improve our services and incorporate new capabilities.
Qualifications & exceptions
'Could range' makes the scale a range of possibilities.
Ongoing collection is tied to continuing improvement of services and adding new capabilities.
'Since before 2022' is an approximate start, not a precise date.
Not stated here
The page does not say how long collected data are kept.
It does not say which data collection began before 2022 or for which models.