Document title identifies a Stride Bank privacy policy
The supplied document is titled “Stride Bank, N.A. Privacy Policy.” The title names Stride Bank, N.A. as the bank whose privacy terms follow and does not mention Affirm. Later text in the same document calls it a “notice” (“This notice describes how we collect, use and share information”), so the title’s “policy” and the body’s “notice” refer to this one document. The title line states no version or effective date.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
What it covers
privacy policy titled for Stride Bank, N.A.
Supporting quotations
Stride Bank, N.A. Privacy Policy
Qualifications & exceptions
Title only; no version or effective date appears on this line.
The body also calls the document a notice; the two labels refer to the same supplied text.
Not stated here
The document does not explain why its title says “Privacy Policy” while later text calls it a notice.
The title does not identify Affirm; the relationship between this Stride Bank document and Affirm is not stated here.
Legal Rights & Agreement Rules · Context
Notice is last updated January 2025 and points to another privacy notice
The document is presented as last updated January 2025. It says it describes how information is collected, used and shared, but it is not exhaustive: other privacy policies may apply in addition, and a person who inquires about, applies for, or has a financial product or service with the bank is directed to review a separate “Privacy Notice” that applies to U.S. customers and consumers as described in that notice. The supplied text does not state which document controls if the two differ, and the referenced Privacy Notice is not included.
Details
When
Last Updated January 2025
Condition
if you inquire about, apply for, or have a financial product or service
What it covers
separate Privacy Notice for U.S. customers and consumers
Supporting quotations
Last Updated January 2025
This notice describes how we collect, use and share information.
Other privacy policies may apply in addition to the terms of this notice.
If you inquire about, apply for, or have a financial product or service with us, please review our Privacy Notice, which applies to U.S. customers and consumers as described in that notice.
Qualifications & exceptions
The referenced Privacy Notice is a separate document that may apply in addition to this one.
The notice does not state a priority or conflict rule between the two documents.
The update line is “Last Updated January 2025”; no separate effective date is stated for the notice as a whole.
Not stated here
The referenced “Privacy Notice” is not supplied, so its terms and any differences from this document are unknown.
Whether “our” in “our Privacy Notice” refers to Stride Bank, N.A. or to another entity is not explicit.
The notice does not state whether the January 2025 update replaced an earlier version or what changed.
Data Access & Collection · Company practice
Personal information is defined broadly and types depend on the product
Personal information is defined generally as information that identifies the consumer or device, plus other information the bank associates with it. The types collected and shared depend on the product or service the consumer has; the notice gives as examples Social Security number, account balances and transaction history, account transactions and risk tolerance. The list is introduced by “can include,” so it is illustrative rather than exhaustive. The definition does not exclude any category of information by name.
Details
What it covers
information that identifies you or your device and information associated with it
Condition
depends on the product or service
Supporting quotations
Personal information generally means information that identifies you or your device, and other information we associate with it.
This section generally describes how Stride Bank collects and uses your personal information
The types of personal information we collect and share depend on the product or service you have with us.
This information can include: ◼ Social Security number ◼ account balances and transaction history ◼ account transactions and risk tolerance
Qualifications & exceptions
The data types depend on the product or service.
The listed types are examples (“can include”), not a complete inventory.
“Risk tolerance” is listed as a data type; the notice does not explain how it is derived or used.
Not stated here
The notice does not map the listed data types to specific products or state that every customer’s data includes all of them.
The notice does not define “risk tolerance” or say whether it is inferred.
Sharing continues after the customer relationship ends
The notice states that when a consumer is no longer a customer, the bank continues to share the consumer’s information as described in the notice. The reference to “as described in this notice” means the sharing reasons and limits elsewhere in the document continue to apply; the notice does not state a retention period or an end date for that sharing.
Details
When
after you are no longer a customer
What it covers
your information
Supporting quotations
When you are no longer our customer, we continue to share your information as described in this notice.
Qualifications & exceptions
Continues after the customer relationship ends, on the terms described in the notice.
No retention period or end date is stated.
Not stated here
The notice does not state how long information is kept or when sharing stops.
The notice does not describe any deletion or customer-notification trigger.
Federal law gives a partial right to limit sharing
The notice frames the sharing table within federal law: financial companies choose how they share personal information, but federal law gives consumers the right to limit some, not all, sharing and requires the bank to explain how it collects, shares and protects personal information. The notice does not name the federal statute or describe the limits beyond the three categories listed later.
Details
Who
financial companies
What it covers
right to limit some but not all sharing
Supporting quotations
Financial companies choose how they share your personal information.
Federal law gives consumers the right to limit some but not all sharing.
Federal law also requires us to tell you how we collect, share, and protect your personal information.
Qualifications & exceptions
The right to limit is partial.
The federal law is not named.
Not stated here
The notice does not identify the statute or regulations that impose the notice and opt-out requirements.
The notice does not state whether any sharing is required by law.
Sharing & Disclosure · Context
Sharing table lists reasons and whether sharing can be limited
The table is introduced as listing three things: the reasons financial companies can share customers’ personal information, the reasons Stride Bank, N.A. chooses to share, and whether the consumer can limit that sharing. Its columns are the reason, whether the bank shares, and whether the consumer can limit. In the supplied text the share-column heading is split: “Does Stride Bank, N.A.” appears before “Can you limit this sharing?” and “Share?” appears after the first data row. The row values remain readable as reason/share/limit, but the extraction does not preserve the original header layout.
Details
What it covers
sharing reasons, the bank’s choice to share, and limitability
Supporting quotations
In the section below, we list the reasons financial companies can share their customers’ personal information; the reasons Stride Bank, N.A. chooses to share; and whether you can limit this sharing.
Reasons we can share your personal information
Does Stride Bank, N.A.
Can you limit this sharing?
Share?
Qualifications & exceptions
The table separates reasons financial companies generally may share from the reasons this bank says it chooses to share.
The share-column heading is split across the text “Does Stride Bank, N.A.” and “Share?”.
Not stated here
The supplied extraction does not preserve the original table layout, so the exact placement of “Share?” is inferred from the row values rather than from a retained table structure.
The notice does not explain why some limit answers say “No” and others say “We don’t share.”
Sharing & Disclosure · Company practice
Bank shares for everyday business and its own marketing; no limit
Stride Bank says it shares personal information for its everyday business purposes and for its own marketing to offer its products and services. The everyday-business examples are processing transactions, maintaining accounts, responding to court orders and legal investigations, and reporting to credit bureaus. For both rows the notice answers “Yes” to sharing and “No” to whether the consumer can limit it. The examples are introduced by “such as” and are not a complete list of everyday business purposes.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
Why
everyday business purposes
Why
own marketing to offer products and services
Condition
consumer cannot limit this sharing
Supporting quotations
For our everyday business purposes— such as to process your transactions, maintain your account(s), respond to court orders and legal investigations, or report to credit bureaus | Yes | No
For our marketing purposes— to offer our products and services to you | Yes | No
Qualifications & exceptions
“Yes” means the bank shares; “No” means the consumer cannot limit that sharing.
Everyday-business examples are illustrative.
Applies to the bank’s own everyday business and marketing, not to joint marketing or affiliate/nonaffiliate marketing.
Not stated here
The notice does not identify the recipients, service providers or marketing channels used.
The notice does not state whether “sharing” here includes disclosures to affiliates or only to third parties.
Sharing & Disclosure · Company practice
No joint marketing of bank products
Joint marketing is defined as a formal agreement between nonaffiliated financial companies that together market financial products or services to the consumer. The bank says it does not jointly market bank products with other financial companies, and the table answers “No” to sharing for joint marketing. The no-joint-marketing statement is limited to bank products even though the definition covers financial products or services more broadly.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
What it covers
bank products
Condition
does not jointly market
Supporting quotations
For joint marketing with other financial companies | No | No
A formal agreement between nonaffiliated financial companies that together market financial products or services to you.
We do not jointly market bank products with other financial companies.
Qualifications & exceptions
The commitment names “bank products”; the definition covers financial products or services generally.
The table’s limit answer for this row is “No.”
Not stated here
The notice does not state whether the bank jointly markets any non-bank products.
The notice does not name any joint-marketing partner.
Sharing & Disclosure · Company practice
No affiliate sharing for affiliate business or marketing
The notice says Stride Bank does not share with affiliates for the affiliates’ everyday business purposes, whether the information is transaction and experience data or creditworthiness data, and does not share for affiliates to market to the consumer. Affiliates are defined as companies related by common ownership or control, financial or nonfinancial. The bank adds that it has no affiliates with which it shares personal information. For these rows the limit column says “We don’t share,” so the limit question does not arise.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
What it covers
personal information about transactions, experiences and creditworthiness
Why
affiliates’ everyday business purposes and affiliate marketing
Condition
does not share; no affiliates to share with
Supporting quotations
For our affiliates’ everyday business purposes— information about your transactions and experiences | No | We don't share
For our affiliates’ everyday business purposes— information about your creditworthiness | No | We don’t share
For our affiliates to market to you | No | We don't share
Companies related by common ownership or control. They can be financial and nonfinancial companies.
Stride Bank, N.A. has no affiliates with which it shares your personal information.
Qualifications & exceptions
Affiliates are defined by common ownership or control.
The bank states it has no affiliates with which it shares personal information.
These statements cover affiliate sharing, not sharing with nonaffiliates for other purposes.
Not stated here
The notice does not name any affiliate or state whether the bank has affiliates with which it does not share.
The notice does not explain how “common ownership or control” is applied.
No nonaffiliate marketing; other nonaffiliate sharing is not excluded
The notice says Stride Bank does not share personal information with nonaffiliates so that they can market to the consumer. Nonaffiliates are defined as companies not related by common ownership or control, financial or nonfinancial. The commitment is limited to marketing: the notice does not say the bank never shares with nonaffiliates for other purposes, and the everyday-business row separately lists reporting to credit bureaus as an example without characterizing the recipient.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
Why
nonaffiliates marketing to you
Condition
does not share for that purpose
Supporting quotations
For non-affiliates to market to you | No | We don't share
Companies not related by common ownership or control. They can be financial and nonfinancial companies.
Stride Bank, N.A. does not share with non-affiliates so they can market to you.
Qualifications & exceptions
The statement is about nonaffiliate marketing, not all nonaffiliate sharing.
Nonaffiliates may be financial or nonfinancial companies.
Not stated here
The notice does not list nonaffiliates that receive information for everyday business purposes or state whether any such sharing occurs.
The notice does not state whether nonaffiliates are service providers or independent recipients.
Legal Rights & Agreement Rules · User right or choice
Federal opt-out covers three categories; state sections qualify it
The notice says federal law gives consumers the right to limit only three categories: sharing with affiliates for their everyday business purposes about creditworthiness, affiliates’ use of information to market to the consumer, and sharing with nonaffiliates for them to market to the consumer. It adds that state laws and individual companies may give additional rights and points to the state-law sections below. The three categories named here correspond to table rows the bank marks “No | We don’t share” for affiliate creditworthiness, affiliate marketing and nonaffiliate marketing, so the notice presents the federal opt-out as covering categories in which it says it does not share. The state-law sections qualify the picture: the Vermont section limits nonaffiliate sharing to the bank’s own marketing, everyday business, or consent, and the California section describes CCPA rights but states those provisions do not apply to financial-institution data under federal law. The text prints “businesspurposes” as one word in the first category.
Vermont: nonaffiliate sharing only for own marketing, everyday business, or consent
Condition
California: CCPA provisions do not apply to financial-institution data under federal law
Supporting quotations
Federal law gives you the right to limit only ◼ sharing for affiliates’ everyday businesspurposes—information about your creditworthiness ◼ affiliates from using your information to market to you ◼ sharing for non-affiliates to market to you
State laws and individual companies may give you additional rights to limit sharing.
See below for more on your rights under state law.
For our affiliates’ everyday business purposes— information about your creditworthiness | No | We don’t share
For our affiliates to market to you | No | We don't share
For non-affiliates to market to you | No | We don't share
In accordance with Vermont law, we will not share with non-affiliates except for our own marketing purposes, our everyday business purposes, or with your consent.
These provisions of the CCPA do not apply to personal information collected, processed, shared, or disclosed by financial institutions pursuant to federal law.
Qualifications & exceptions
The federal right is limited to the three listed categories.
State laws may add rights; the notice points to the state-law sections below.
The Vermont section narrows nonaffiliate sharing; the California section states a financial-institution limitation on CCPA rights.
The quoted word “businesspurposes” is printed without a space; it appears to mean “business purposes.”
Not stated here
The notice does not give a specific opt-out address, form or process for these categories; the only contact stated is for questions.
The notice does not explain how a limit request would be handled if the bank shared in one of these categories.
The notice does not explain how the Vermont exceptions and the federal opt-out interact for a Vermont consumer, or how the California limitation is applied.
Stride Bank provides the notice; questions go to an Affirm address
The notice identifies Stride Bank, N.A. as the entity providing it. Questions are directed to customercare@affirm.com, an Affirm customer-care address rather than a Stride Bank address. The notice describes that address only for questions; it does not label it as an opt-out, privacy-request or complaint channel.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
What it covers
questions about the notice
Condition
email customercare@affirm.com
Supporting quotations
If you have any questions, please contact us by email at customercare@affirm.com.
Who is providing this notice? | Stride Bank, N.A.
Qualifications & exceptions
The contact is for questions.
The email domain is Affirm, while the notice’s provider is Stride Bank, N.A.
Not stated here
The notice does not state whether the Affirm customer-care mailbox handles privacy or opt-out requests.
The notice does not give a Stride Bank privacy contact.
Security & Safeguards · Company commitment
Security measures described generically
Stride Bank says it uses security measures that comply with federal law to protect personal information from unauthorized access and use. It gives computer safeguards and secured files and buildings as examples. The notice does not specify standards, encryption, access controls, employee training or incident-notification commitments.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
Why
protect personal information from unauthorized access and use
What it covers
computer safeguards and secured files and buildings
Supporting quotations
To protect your personal information from unauthorized access and use, we use security measures that comply with federal law.
These measures include computer safeguards and secured files and buildings.
Qualifications & exceptions
The measures are described as examples (“include”).
Compliance is asserted with federal law, not with a named standard.
Not stated here
The notice does not state which federal security requirements apply or how compliance is verified.
The notice does not describe breach notification or consumer remedies.
Data Access & Collection · Company practice
Collection happens through account activity and other companies
The notice says the bank collects personal information when a consumer opens an account or deposits money, pays bills or gives contact information, or uses a credit or debit card. It also collects personal information from other companies. The consumer-activity examples are introduced by “for example” and are not exhaustive.
Details
Who
Stride Bank, N.A.
What it covers
personal information
What it does
collects when you open an account, deposit money, pay bills, give contact information, or use a credit or debit card
What it does
collects from other companies
Supporting quotations
We collect your personal information, for example, when you ◼ open an account or deposit money ◼ pay your bills or give us your contact information ◼ use your credit or debit card
We also collect your personal information from other companies.
Qualifications & exceptions
The activity examples are illustrative.
The other companies are not identified.
Not stated here
The notice does not identify the other companies, the data they supply, or whether the consumer is notified.
The notice does not state whether information is collected through cookies or website tracking in this document.
Sharing & Disclosure · Restriction or exception
Vermont residents: nonaffiliate sharing limited to three exceptions
For Vermont residents, the notice says the bank will not share with nonaffiliates except for the bank’s own marketing purposes, its everyday business purposes, or with the consumer’s consent. This state-specific statement addresses nonaffiliate sharing generally, while the national table addresses nonaffiliate marketing and does not state a general nonaffiliate-sharing rule.
Details
Where
Vermont
Condition
will not share with non-affiliates except own marketing, everyday business, or consent
Supporting quotations
Vermont Residents:
In accordance with Vermont law, we will not share with non-affiliates except for our own marketing purposes, our everyday business purposes, or with your consent.
Qualifications & exceptions
Applies to Vermont residents.
The exceptions are the bank’s own marketing, the bank’s everyday business purposes, and consent.
The text uses “non-affiliates” here and “nonaffiliates” elsewhere for the same defined group.
Not stated here
The notice does not describe how Vermont consent is obtained or recorded.
The notice does not state whether the Vermont exceptions also apply to affiliates.
Nevada residents: contact information for the consumer-protection office
For Nevada residents, the notice provides contact information for the Bureau of Consumer Protection in the Nevada Attorney General’s Office, as required by Nevada law: street address, phone number and email. The section is a contact disclosure; it does not describe a Nevada privacy right, opt-out or substantive limitation on sharing.
Details
Where
Nevada
What it covers
Bureau of Consumer Protection contact information
Supporting quotations
Nevada Residents:
Nevada law requires that we provide you with the following contact information: Bureau of Consumer Protection, Office of the Nevada Attorney General, 555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 3900, Las Vegas, NV 89101; Phone number: 702-486-3132; email: agInfo@ag.nv.gov
Qualifications & exceptions
This is a contact disclosure required by Nevada law.
The notice does not state what requests the Nevada office accepts.
Not stated here
The notice does not describe any additional Nevada privacy rights or the bank’s Nevada obligations beyond the contact disclosure.
Legal Rights & Agreement Rules · User right or choice
California residents: CCPA rights subject to a financial-institution limitation
For California residents, the notice describes three CCPA rights effective January 1, 2020: to ask a covered business which categories and pieces of personal information it collects and how the information is used; to request deletion; and to opt out of the sale of personal information, “if applicable.” The notice then states that these CCPA provisions do not apply to personal information collected, processed, shared or disclosed by financial institutions pursuant to federal law. The limitation is stated broadly, and the notice does not analyze whether particular Stride Bank data falls within it.
Details
Where
California
When
Effective January 1, 2020
What it covers
right to ask, delete, and opt out of sale
Condition
does not apply to financial-institution data under federal law
Supporting quotations
California Residents:
Effective January 1, 2020, the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) permits consumers who are California residents to (a) ask a covered business which categories and pieces of personal information it collects and how the information is used; (b) request deletion of the information; and (c) opt out of the sale of such information, if applicable.
These provisions of the CCPA do not apply to personal information collected, processed, shared, or disclosed by financial institutions pursuant to federal law.
Qualifications & exceptions
Applies to California residents.
The rights are those the notice describes under the CCPA effective January 1, 2020.
The sale opt-out is qualified by “if applicable.”
The notice states a financial-institution limitation; this card reports that statement, not a legal conclusion about its scope.
Not stated here
The notice does not identify which data is held by a financial institution “pursuant to federal law,” so the practical reach of the CCPA rights for a given product is not stated.
The notice does not define “covered business” or “sale.”
California request rules, response timing and fees
The procedure is framed around a “verifiable consumer request.” Only the consumer or a person registered with the California Secretary of State who is authorized to act on the consumer’s behalf may make a request; a consumer may also request on behalf of a minor child. A consumer may make a request to know or delete twice in a 12-month period. The bank says it endeavors to respond within 45 days, may extend up to 90 days with written reasons, and disclosures cover only the preceding 12-month period. The response will explain reasons the bank cannot comply, if applicable. For right-to-know requests, the bank says it will select a readily usable format that should allow transmission without hindrance. No fee is charged unless the request is excessive, repetitive or manifestly unfounded; if a fee applies, the bank says it will explain why and give a cost estimate before completing the request. The notice also says consumers will not receive discriminatory treatment for exercising CCPA rights.
Details
Who
you or an authorized agent registered with the California Secretary of State
Condition
verifiable request; twice in 12 months
When
45 days, extendable up to 90 days
What it covers
request to know or delete personal information
Supporting quotations
Only you or a person registered with the California Secretary of State that you authorize to act on your behalf, may make a verifiable consumer request related to your personal information.
You may also make a verifiable consumer request on behalf of your minor child.
You may make a verifiable consumer request to know or delete personal information twice within a 12-month period.
We endeavor to respond to a verifiable consumer request within 45 days of its receipt.
If we require more time (up to 90 days), we will inform you of the reason and extension period in writing.
Any disclosures we provide will only cover the preceding 12-month period.
The response we provide will also explain the reasons we cannot comply with a request, if applicable.
For right to know requests, we will select a format to provide your personal information that is readily useable and should allow you to transmit the information from one entity to another entity without hindrance.
We do not charge a fee to process or respond to your verifiable consumer request unless it is excessive, repetitive, or manifestly unfounded.
If we determine that the request warrants a fee, we will tell you why we made that decision and provide you with a cost estimate before completing your request.
consumers will not receive discriminatory treatment for the exercise of the privacy rights conferred by the CCPA
Qualifications & exceptions
The response times are stated as endeavors; an extension up to 90 days is allowed with written reasons.
Disclosures cover only the preceding 12 months.
The fee exception applies to excessive, repetitive or manifestly unfounded requests.
These commitments are subject to the financial-institution limitation stated in the same section.
Not stated here
The notice does not describe how to submit a request, what verification evidence is required, or how the 12-month limit is calculated.
The notice does not state what “readily useable” format will be selected.
California CCPA contact is for compliance questions
The notice gives privacy@affirm.com as the contact for questions about its compliance with the CCPA. It does not say this address is the channel for submitting a verifiable consumer request; the request procedure is described separately without a submission address.
Details
What it covers
questions about CCPA compliance
Condition
email privacy@affirm.com
Supporting quotations
To contact us with questions about our compliance with the CCPA, please contact us by email at privacy@affirm.com.
Qualifications & exceptions
The address is an Affirm privacy address, not a Stride Bank address.
The stated purpose is questions about CCPA compliance.
Not stated here
The notice does not state where or how a verifiable consumer request is submitted.
The notice does not state whether the address accepts requests or only questions.