LIVE Feature Guidelines

TikTok · Official agreement

17 cards.

LIVE feature guidelines

Last updated, January 2024

What are LIVE features on TikTok?

TikTok offers LIVE features for LIVE creators to enhance their experience going LIVE. Some tools allow LIVE creators to customize their LIVE streams and interact with their audience and other creators in new ways, or help improve creator opportunities to be discovered by promoting them to new audiences. These include, but are not limited to, the following features:

·

Features that may assist with content customization, e.g. LIVE Studio, Green Screen, mobile gaming

·

Features that assist with gaining Gifts or monetization, e.g. Treasure Box, LIVE goal, subscription, and LIVE match

·

Features that allow you to interact with other viewers and creators, e.g. multi-guest, co-host, LIVE match

·

Features that present creators on leaderboards, e.g. Weekly Ranking

·

Features that assist with increasing exposure to your content, such as flare, Promote

·

Features that assist with categorizing your content, such as topics and LIVE Events

·

Other interactive features, e.g. poll, voice effects, pin comments

What are the standards for using LIVE features?

In order to foster an authentic, diverse, and welcoming community experience on TikTok, we ask creators to follow behavioral standards that maintain a safe, positive community. LIVE creators who don’t follow these standards may see their access to certain product features being restricted.

As with all content on TikTok, LIVE creators must comply with our Community Guidelines; not doing so may result in revoking their ability to go LIVE, or action being taken against their account. Our For You feed Eligibility Standards are also applicable, and may affect a LIVE creator’s access to LIVE features if they engage in behaviors including, but not limited to:

·

Tricking or manipulating others as a way to increase engagement metrics, such as “like-for-like” promises or creating false incentives for engaging with content

·

Using fake engagement to seek or request Gifts, such as through mechanical/overly-repetitive activities or automatic systems/programmed loops, or by engaging in demeaning or mildly reckless behavior

·

Creating content that violates someone else’s intellectual property rights, or otherwise contains unoriginal content that does not have any new or creative changes

In order to promote a diverse, welcoming, and authentic experience that is appropriate for a broad audience, we also have eligibility requirements and standards for our monetization features, including but not limited to LIVE gifting, LIVE match and time-based ranking features, like Weekly Ranking, Daily Ranking, and Hourly Ranking. We may temporarily restrict creators’ access to these features if they engage in:

·

Promoting “pay-to-support” content that presents sensitive topics in an inflammatory or polarizing manner to try and incentivize viewers to send Gifts or engage

·

Exploiting a potentially traumatic ongoing tragedy (including making false claims) for personal gain

Violations

If LIVE creators are found to be in violation of the Community Guidelines and standards stated above, we may restrict access to relevant features in accordance with our guidelines. Repeated violations across multiple LIVE streams may result in feature access being suspended for a longer period of time, such as several days. As stated above, we may apply stricter action in the event that creators do not comply with our Community Guidelines, including revoking the ability to go LIVE or taking account-level enforcement.

When LIVE creators lose access to LIVE features, they will be notified in various ways, including but not limited to:

1.

Creators will receive a notification in their in-app inbox that describes what feature has been restricted, the reason for restriction, and the period of time. A record of this information will also be available in system notifications.

2.

If they are currently LIVE, creators will receive a pop-up notification during their LIVE in addition to the notifications above.

Creators will also be notified once their feature access has been restored. While feature access is restricted, the features may be greyed-out or otherwise unavailable in the app.

Appeal

If creators believe that feature access was incorrectly removed, they can submit an appeal, which is accessible in their system notifications.